top of page

Bring It 2015!

I don't know about how other self-published authors feel, but I know I experience so many ups and downs with this chosen profession. And I'm not just talking about throughout the course of a year, month or week...I'm talking about in ONE day! I could wake up filled with hope and anticipation, deflated by noon from a bad review, and back up again by bedtime just by sheer faith and determination.

But today, one day before the year ends, I'm feeling good about the future and this coming year. I was surprisingly and quite happily invited to contribute a story to an anthology (a compilation of stories by several authors) for the beginning of the year. Stay tuned for more info...

My newest release THREE, which had received a bad review to start, has gotten quite a few more good reviews. Like beauty, great books are in the eyes of the bookholder. There are books that I adore, that others have slammed. I need to learn to take the bad with a grain of salt and keep moving. Though to be fair to myself, who wouldn't be worried if the very first review of their book is bad?

And I'm finally connecting with fellow authors, so I'm definitely starting to feel a part of the writing community. Before, I felt like that new kid in school trying to find where to sit in the cafeteria that first day. I wasn't sure if the "cool kids" would reject me and laugh or if they'd scoot over and let me in and share their experiences. Now I can breath a bit easier and need to remember this moment down the road when a newbie comes in and wants to join the lunch table. Don't worry new kid, I'll scoot over for you and impart little nuggets of wisdom I've learned along the way.

In short, I feel truly blessed ending this first year of my journey as an author. And I can't wait to see what 2015 will bring. Thanks to all of you that have made me feel so welcome and warm 'n' fuzzy inside.

And for anyone interested in checking out my books...take a gander: http://www.amazon.com/Twyla-Turner/e/B00M59OGWC

Happy Reading! :)


bottom of page