top of page

Who Am I Without My Readers?

An author with unread books, that's who!

Earlier tonight a reader and Admin for an author/reader group on Facebook thanked me in a private message. And when I asked her why, she said for making another reader so happy (let's call the reader Jane). She said that Jane was on cloud 9. Jane said that I'm so down to earth and that most authors don't take the time to talk to their readers.

Now I'm not sure how true this is about other authors. But I'll be damned if I'll ignore the very people that I want to keep buying my books! Those that I encourage to write reviews and spread the word about my books. Most books aren't advertised like other products. So a book mainly gains success from 'word of mouth'.

Silent Readers = Death to Books

I know many of the times that I'm chatting with them, I really should be writing, outlining, revising or something. But it doesn't hurt to stop and say "Hi! Thank you." So I'm writing this blog as a reminder to myself and any other author that may read this.

Twyla, do NOT forget your readers. Your success depends on THEM. They inspire you. Motivate you to keep going. They were YOU once upon a time! NEVER forget that!!!

Anyway, that's my story and I'm sticking to it! Have a great week and keep on, keeping on. :)


bottom of page