top of page

Friendly Advice to Myself and to You...

Time to get honest with you and myself. I have been dealing with many distractions (like this blog) and getting in my own way. So first I'll address the social media distractions. Trying to reach new readers and connect with existing ones, as well as joining the ranks of the author community and communicating with them, has led me to obsessing over posts, comments and likes on all of the social media outlets. Instead of writing, I'm checking into Facebook to see what's going on and what people are saying or thinking about what I should write for this blog.

I realize that this is my own doing. I need to work on time management and focus in this new year. In 2014, I wasn't nearly as active on all the social media outlets as I am now, and I cranked out books like a machine. But without connecting with readers and other authors, all you'll get is a crap load of unread books.

I should probably implement a corporate type schedule. Work, fifteen minute break, work, lunch, work, fifteen minute break and then try to stop during the evening for rest. The operative word is try.

My other problem is that I have gotten some pretty wonderful reviews and praise on my novel Scarred. The characters and their demons are really resonating with the readers. Why would something so amazing be a problem, you ask? Well the kind of love they're receiving is wonderful...and scary as hell! I keep freaking myself out on whether the sequels I have planned will live up to everyone's expectations. But what I keep forgetting is that there is absolutely no one's expectations I need to live up to but my own.

As a writer putting your work out there, you're going to get lovers and haters of your work. The lovers will validate you and warm your soul. The haters will make you strive to get better and to grow. But what you and I need to always remember, is that if you are honestly proud and happy with what you've done, then you've won. And there will always be people that will respect you, even if they don't completely like what you've written, because they know that you stayed true to who you are as a person and an artist.

So when I'm done working on my short story for the anthology I'm involved with, I will go back to my characters Lexi and Sloan. To continue to write their story like I've written all my previous stories...exactly the way I'd want to read them. If you're not interested, excited or completely absorbed in your story or characters, it's doubtful anyone else will either.

So that's my little bit of wisdom that I thought I'd impart to the world. Let's see if I can follow my own advice.


bottom of page