top of page

Can You Love Your Own Work?

So I've often wondered when listening to awesome music or watching an amazing movie, "Do musicians rock out to their own songs" or "Do actors settle in for a lazy Sunday afternoon and watch a movie they were in?"

It seems almost arrogant, that they would. But if it's good or entertaining...Why not?

When I've written a story and revised it once; I like to sit back, pull it up in PDF or read only form and then read it a second time as if I'm reading any other book on my tablet. And I'll reread it again, when I receive the proof for the paperback in the mail. It helps me view it with a fresh perspective and a slightly less biased mindset. And while I did this, I realized that I love reading my work! Especially my first novel. I laugh every time. And I think to myself, "That's freakin' hilarious! I really wrote that?! Where do I come up with this stuff?!"

My work may not be the best and yours might not be either. But if you can't sit back and enjoy what you've written...what you've accomplished, then who else will? Love your work. Bask in it! Because I'm 99.9% sure that if you love it, many others will too!!!

So even if they don't admit it, I bet musicians probably do dance around their house listening to their albums or sing along to it in the car when their song comes on the radio. And I bet actors probably secretly watch their movies at home. Hell, if I was Leonardo DiCaprio, I'd watch Inception all the time. Or if I was Rachel McAdams, The Notebook would be playing on a constant loop! Okay, not really a constant loop, but maybe! ;)

I know everyone is a little different, but I'm sure many of us do it. I do and I'm not ashamed to admit it. In fact, let me shout it from the rooftop...I LOVE READING MY OWN NOVELS!!!


bottom of page