top of page

A Slave To My Right Brain!

So apparently the frontal lobe and right hemisphere of our brains are what controls creativity. And currently mine are not working. UGH!!! I need to be writing at this very moment, but I can't wrap my head around the story. I don't know if it's distractions, if I need to calm my mind of all the outside noise or wait for that "Ah-Ha" moment.

Though as authors, we don't always have time to wait for that elusive moment. Those who have publishing houses and editors, definitely don't have time for that. And those of us that don't have them, still have loyal readers that are waiting for our next body of work. Plus, the more books we get out there to the masses, the more we'll be 'seen' and maybe get that coveted book deal and/or larger audience. So none of us have time to deal with the ever dreaded writer's block, creative roadblocks or brain farts.

But what happens if you try to force it? Or, if you come up with any old thing, just to get something down so it doesn't look like you've done nothing all day? You'll probably get a book with no heart or passion. I know when I get that itch..that spark..that burst of creativity, I turn into a writing machine that can't be stopped. I adore those moments...sigh. And when they happen, it's like the light bulb above your head is burning bright and you have to get down as much as humanly possible before the light dims or completely fizzles out.

And right now, my light bulb has burnt out. FRIED...I tell you!!! And I'm trying to find out where I can get a new one. I've tried outlining the story and I'm even stumped on that. I've even started working out, to see if that gets my creative juices flowing. But I'm in such a weird frame of mind right now. I can't even explain it.

And that's another thing we have to contend with as artists. If you have a job that has set duties and tasks that rarely change from day to day, it doesn't matter what mood you're in. Muscle memory and repetition take over and you do your job. But as an artist there aren't necessarily rules or guidelines to your work. And your emotions and how you're feeling have a big part in what we do. And when we have a slump emotionally, so does our work. Or is that just me?

Anyway, that's my take on it. For other writers/authors, what's your views on it? What do you do to pull yourself out of a slump or block? I need some inspiration!


bottom of page