top of page

Curiosity Can Suck A Big Fat...(Fill in the Blank)

As writers/authors we spend weeks, months or years putting blood sweat and tears into a novel. We stress over it, we pray, we pull out our hair, we laugh and we cry while we're writing it. And then when we're finally finished, there is this sense of relief, pride and pure bliss. We accomplished something. We put our heart and soul into something. And you know what...it's not half bad.

Then we put it out there to the masses and a new phase of stress beings. Will anyone want to read it? Should I have spent a little more time on it? On that one chapter? Will readers like it if they do buy it? Am I really good enough to make this into an honest to goodness profession?

Then you start seeing purchases here and there. And there's that wait in between the purchase date and the first review. And we start thinking... What's taking so long? Did they not like it? Did they like it, but just not one for leaving reviews? What's taking SO long?

And finally, the reviews start coming in. The good ones validate why you started writing to begin with and fill your heart with joy. The bad ones either help you grow, help your writing for the next book or they crush your soul. Okay maybe not quite soul-crushing...if you have super thick freaking skin!

Anyway, I have gotten more good reviews than bad. And the last review I received didn't even affect the overall 5 star rating on the book in question. Which I'm incredibly thankful for.

But the life of an author is waking up to an amazing 5 star rating and ending the day with a 1 star rating. That is the life I have chosen. Honest to God, that is exactly what happened to me today. And just like the commone analogy I mentioned in one of my novels: You can be in a room full of 100 people and 99 of them compliments you, while 1 insults you. And the main thing that'll stick out in your head is the one insult.

So we have a couple of choices: Read every review and take the good with the bad. Read only the good reviews and possibly not accept the possible learning experience a not so stellar review can bring. Or don't read any of it, but still ask readers to leave reviews so that other readers that happen along your book, may be enticed to read it.

I've heard of authors that chose option three. My curiosity has lead me to option one. But upon further deliberation, I'm starting to seriously reconsider the last option. No ego boosts or debilitating hits to my pride. Thank you very much! And then I can spare you guys my angry rants on this blog.


bottom of page