top of page

Writer Funk + Life Funk = Ugh!

Have you ever hit a wall with your writing AND your life? Well I have. And I'm currently smack dab in the middle of it right now.

I wake up early every morning to write as usual, and it's completely silent because no one has gotten up yet. I get a little spurt of brilliance. And it peters out very quickly when my parents get up and turn on the news.

I haven't really had this problem before. I could plug in my earbuds, turn on Calm Water Radio and hit it hard. But apparently, I need a change of writing scenery. I just hate trying to write somewhere else, because I am a creature of habit. And my particular habits are best kept at home. Example: smoking an E-Cig when I stop to think about how I want to word something and rubbing and smelling my "blankie" that I've had since I was a kid that has always helped me to think better. Don't judge me! It was a lifesaver during finals! Anyway, I guess I'll have to find a way.

Also, trying to find ways to boost sales on my novels that are already out, because they've been lagging for a month or two. And just exhaustion in general from racking my brain on how I can make this career my main source of income.

Then in my personal life, I'm tired of living with my parents, in a state I don't want to live in, when all I want to do is travel. I want to start dating again, but I don't at the same time. I have no time for a man or to get wrapped up in a relationship right now. My career is my #1 priority at this time in my life. But a girl needs some sweet lovin' every now and again. Ha! At the very least for inspiration for my writing.

Also, I've been working my ass off at the gym and trying to eat better, only to lose 0 pounds. Mind you I have thighs of steel and a pretty lovely squat butt, if I do say so myself. But that's it.

I guess I'm just tired of working hard with minimal results in all aspects of my life. And I know I should just get over it and move on. But I do believe that everyone is entitled to have bad days. So I'm recognizing my funk for what it is. Venting my feelings, to just get it off my chest. Thinking about solutions I can do to make it better (setting up a writing area in our backyard, connecting with other authors that have ideas on how to spread the word about our work, considering going on a casual date, just to get out and flirt and going for bike rides or hikes instead of the gym). And finally, hopefully moving on from it.

I always try to look to the positive, even in the middle of my pity parties. Like all things in life, this too shall pass. Funks come and go, but my passion for this amazing life will always remain.

Til next time...


bottom of page