top of page

Drowning in a Sea of Anonymity

Has anyone else felt anonymous in their writing/other career? I know I have. When I started this journey as an Indie author, I had no idea of the scope of other Indie authors out there. Not counting the authors that are backed by traditional publishing houses. And though I agree with the common phrase that I've been seeing in the writing community, "There is plenty of room for all of us/There are plenty of readers for all of us", how do you make yourself seen or get your name out there so that said readers can find you? How do you keep from drowning?

I don't really know what the answer is to that. And I freak out weekly if not daily, trying to figure that out. What I do know is...we have to keep trying. I mean really, what's the alternative? Going back to work a job I hate? Doing a job I'm not passionate about? I don't think so. I have to make a name for myself. I don't have any other options.

So I try to integrate myself in the author community to get advice from those willing to impart their wisdom. And I join groups where I can connect with readers. Because believe it or not, the best things that I've come across for promoting myself are through the readers and fellow authors.

Through my readers I learned about FB reader/author groups. They, themselves spread the word about my books. And they got me in contact with a great lady that is the head of the convention I'll be attending in September. And fellow authors got me involved in group anthologies. Taught me about Thunderclap and HeadTalker. As well as, how to setup a book release party. And how I got the information that led to my first interview.

I guess it basically boils down to connecting with the writing/reading community. As much as you may not want to, you have to get involved. You have to break out of your shell...out of your comfort zone. Try not to be a pest of course, but get out there and ask. If you don't ask, you won't get. And remember to also try to help in return. If you have valuable input or information...share it! We're in this together. Because you never know...if you take the time to help out someone else, if they make it big, they might just remember your name. I know I'm making a list in my head of amazing helpful people that I've crossed paths with thus far.

Til next time...


bottom of page