top of page

Reflections on 2014

So when I began this self-pubbing journey at the end of 2013, exactly one year ago, I thought I could write a few books, self-publish them and maybe post a few things here and there on Facebook and maybe pay for a few ads, and gain a ton of readers in the process. Oh foolish foolish girl, you were sadly mistaken. How very naive I was and sometimes still am.

Writing the story is the 1st step and then there is a sh!t ton more to do after that. I have created a Facebook Author page, joined Twitter, joined Goodreads, created a website, started a blog, joined Instagram, joined Google+ and joined quite a few book/writer groups and communities. Trying to promote yourself as an author and your books is exhausting and SLOW work. By nature I am an impatient person, so this slow journey goes against the grain for me. And just recently I went to a Writer's Conference and found out that even if you are signed on with a publishing house, they very rarely foot the bill for promoting your novel. It's up to the author to setup book signings and readings, etc. What the frick?!

So now I'm trying to find the time to do it all. The last month I have worked on promoting and marketing. But I have some more novels that I need to get done, because I know the readers that I have gained thus far are waiting, somewhat patiently for the rest of my Damaged Souls Series. Sometimes my head feels like it's going to pop from information overload.

And I could quit, but what's the alternative...? I can't even think of it. As challenging as it is, I still couldn't be happier that I'm on this journey. And I love reaching people that under normal circumstances I would never even have contact with. I just need to work on my time management...and maybe go on a vacation, have a spa day and get an assistant! Ha, who am I kidding?! Like I have money for the latter three options. Time management it is!!!


bottom of page