top of page

Grammar Nazi

Okay I'm not a full on grammar Nazi or anything. I know I make mistakes. I'll probably make a few in this post. But does anyone else (especially those that write for a living) cringe at the atrocious spelling, punctuation and general grammar of the masses, when you're on the different social media outlets?

I mean, I get it. On Twitter, where you can only use 140 characters, it makes sense. But it's not the quick comments that concerns me. It's more or less the fact that I KNOW these people, specifically the younger generations, are writing like this ALL the time.

Abbreviating and using acronyms are fine, but come on people! Use a period every now and again, so that I know the sentence ended. And if you're going to spell it out, as least TRY or find another word. No one should have to reread your comments two or three times to finally understand what you're trying to say! Or give up all together on figuring it out.

I will never forget what one of my favorite creative writing professors said, back when there was only email, Instant Messaging and LOL. He said as writers we should ALWAYS use regular punctuation, grammar and no shorthand. He said that if we did that we could potentially get comfortable doing it and our writing would suffer for it. So, though I may not use completely perfect punctuation or grammar in texts and FB/Twitter/Instagram comments, I still do my best. As it is, I'm so spoiled by Auto Fill-In on my smartphone that when I'm actually writing, I get pissed that my computer doesn't fill in the word I'm typing.

But my real fear is that eventually the younger generation is going to form a whole new language, like freaking Pig Latin. And the rest of us, won't have any idea what they're saying or texting. Oh wait...they already have! Example: Totes (Totally), Adorbs (Adorable), Thot (Hoe), etc.

Sigh...


bottom of page