top of page

Dream Big & Be Proud of It!

I say we should dream big, or what is the point in even trying. Sometimes I think it's programmed in us to believe we have to fit in with masses. That we can't ask for more from life than what we're getting or what everyone else has. And for women we're expected to settle down, get married, have kids and build our lives around our family. And even if we do focus on our careers, we can't proudly discuss our accomplishments, because we're raised to be humble.

Well I call BS! If we're going to dream, why not dream big? To dream big, is to just believe in ourselves. And what's wrong with that? So that is why I created a vision board that encompasses all my dreams for my life. And as my dreams grow, so will my board.

Also, why is it so acceptable for a woman to celebrate big life events like getting engaged, married or having children, but not for us to have thriving careers. I've seen time and time again, that when my female Facebook friends have posts about traditional life events they get a crap ton of responses and love. But very often when I post about my writing or books, the response is less than lukewarm. As well as my other female friends that have great careers or doing well in school. Is a female opting out of tradition and choosing to travel down a road of her own making, less important or somehow threatening?

Anyway I was doing a little online research a couple days ago and I accidentally discovered magazine templates and an idea was born. I decided to create a fun little motivational meme for myself that I'm pretty proud of. And I wanted to share it on my social media, but was worried that it would come off too boastful. I asked my friend in a text what she thought and this was her exact response. Keep in mind she was a little tipsy when she sent this, but the sentiment is still there:

I f**king love it.. me and shana say post that s**t.. f**k the haters your social media is for you to post and express if people don't like it they can suck a d**k Do you baby.

So with her rather "passionate" encouragement, I eventually decided to share it because if I can help change the way people think. If I can help even one person/woman to dream big and shout it from the rooftops proudly, then I've done good. So without further ado, here is my meme.

I challenge anyone that reads this blog post to create your own inspirational/motivational meme and post it to your social media. You might just inspire someone, including yourself...


bottom of page