top of page

Literary World + Social Media = High School?!

So I hear tell that there's some drama going on in the literary world. I don't know exact specifics because I refuse to be pulled into high school bullshit. I'm too old for that crap, and it's not like I participated in it when I was in high school.

Anyway, I've heard and felt that it can be very cliquish within certain groups. I still feel like an outsider sometimes because often other authors don't make newcomers feel welcome. I've been told by readers that authors of one genre will try to sabotage authors from another, simply because the genre is becoming too popular for their tastes. Or they're trying to sabotage an author because they're getting some recognition from several readers. I've heard that they send in their cronies or loyal readers to write awful and/or unfair reviews just to lower their ratings. And I have a sneaking suspicion that it's happened to me as well, but I have no proof. Maybe this is all hearsay, but I don't think so. If not...

NEWSFLASH: If someone's work is good, no amount of sabotaging is going to work. And now you've just gone and pissed off Karma and have a shitstorm of bad luck heading your way. Way to go! How about instead of trying to ruin someone's career that they've worked just as hard as you have for yours. You could spend more time working on improving your writing and promoting so that you don't have time to worry about what other authors are doing.

There are millions of readers and they read hundreds of books. So there is definitely plenty for all of us. Sometimes the sun will rise on your time, and you have to enjoy it while it's there. Other times, the sun will set on you and rise for someone else. We can all share the sunshine.


bottom of page